Guest Reviews

  • LOCATION
  • CONTACT US
  • GALLERY
March 27, 2013

Dear Alex,

This email relates to a recent stay which my partner and I were fortunate to experience at Akaryn in March 2013. I am somewhat a hard task master and am not easily impressed; yet our stay was worthy of much deserved feedback.

From the moment we entered Akaryn we were thoroughly impressed with the friendliness and willingness of the staff to assist us with anything which we required during our stay. Staff were personable and attentive to our every need. Akaryn does infant have intuitive luxury mastered and the difference between Akaryn and other resorts is second to none; compared to other accommodation on offer at Koh Samui.

The exclusiveness is evident at Akaryn and the staff to guest ratio is indicative of this. Whilst all staff were worthy of a mention; all of their individual names escape us. We did however recall that Woody, Immy, King and Preaw made our stay particularly memorable and they personally took interest in us as guests and assisted with advice on how to make our stay just that little bit more special.

Immy was a standout in our opinion and made 'things happen' in a very quick fashion. To have a hire car on our doorstep in 30 minutes is unheard of! To me it's the little touches that matter the most and I was thoroughly impressed that during breakfasts King in particular recalled my hot beverage requests; every time, without prompting and without fail.

Now to the room. We had the pleasure of residing in room 105 for several days. The finish, inclusions, locality and overall layout was impressive to say the least. The turn down service was fabulous and to return to our room of an evening and to be welcomed by the unmistakable smell of essential oils burning away was rejuvenating to say the least.

I participated in Thai cooking classes during our stay at Akaryn and I have nothing but a standing ovation for the 2 chefs which instructed me during this time. Their knowledge, enthusiasm, preparation and quality of materials were fantastic.

Foolishly I didn't 'discover' the day spa until our day of departure; however I did enjoy an amazing pedicure at this time.

Alex, I don't give feedback often; as it would be fair to say that I haven't had the pleasure of experiencing anything quite like Akaryn before. Feedback has been earn't and should be welcomely received in this instance. Akaryn oozes style, denotes an immediate feeling of serenity and should be on every travellers must visit destination list. I have been singing the praises of Akaryn since our return to Australia and would be eager to return.

Kind regards

Alana-Maree Wyatt

January 20, 2013

Dear Alex

Thank you for the warm hospitality that we received while staying at your resort akaryn.

We enjoyed out stay thoroughly and it was one of the best holiday we had. The resort is beautiful, very well planned and layout.
We love the design of our one bedroom villa - spacious and all the little touches are considered for one to stay.

We love to dine in your restaurant - The Edge. Food is great, especially the steamed seabass and preparation of our poached eggs every morning is simply delicious.
Some of the staff provide great service and we like to single out Yam and Woody who has made our dining experience a memorable one. We told both Yam and Woody that we are looking for a typical dessert from Thailand. Woody took the iniatiative to 'google' it on the website and Yam wrote it in Thai wording for us. We found the dessert in the local market and they are thrilled when we told them about it. During the three night dinner, both of them make a point to look after us very well with passion and care.

On one occasion when we return from a long day from island visiting, we met our housekeeping attendant, : Pui who greeted us with a very warm and welcome 'Good Evening' along the pathway. She even asked 'How are you'. She was very shy but she made us feel so welcome to be home. Then she followed to our villa and make the effort to look if we needed anything for our villa and we requested extra towels. She is certainly one who genuinely care for the guest from a hospitality point of view.

Lastly thank you for inviting us for cocktail and pizza. Great pizza and we had a good time during our last night stay. We will definitely return to AKARYN again.

Suggestion

To have additional treadmill in the gym.
To have write up on the different type of thai dance during seafood BBQ night.

Best wishes,

Paula & Greg

January 8, 2013

we were 13 of us in Akaryn Koh Samui for 5 days. we took 5 pool suites and 2 pool villas. amazing property. small, and with great rooms. the pools were nice. the food was good and the staff was wiling to help. we would even find some one to come to our room and pick some thing and deliver to another room.

the beach was a bit rocky, but we were told it is the season. so if you want to be only want to swim, have a floating bead to cross the rocks. the beach was nice and exclusive.

ideally to take a scooter on rent to be able to go to chewang beach which is about 5 km. this was our secs trip.. and found otto be better than Anantara. but if looking for the pool access villa for a group, then anantara better. in service english a bit poor. for breakfast which was included, they had a menu and you could order.

do note that the pool villa though very good for the family as has access to two bedrooms but away from the beach..near to the reception also free internet, and a free dvd player in the room on request. good veg food also.

January 6, 2013

My wife and I just spent two weeks over the Christmas and New Year break at Akaryn. We re experienced travelers and visitors to Thailand, where we have spent the past four Christmas breaks, twice at Akaryn's affiliated resort, Aleenta, on Phukhet Phang-Nga. We were anxious to try this newly opened resort on Samui, and we were not disappointed.

The setting is beautiful with nicely arranged small villas and pool suites on a hillside leading to a beach on a lovely cove. We stayed in a pool suite with immediate axcess and view of the beach.The room and its amenities were very nice, and the room service and cleanliness met our standards.Because we had to extend our stay a bit, we also enjoyed a couple of days in a pool villa, which was also very nice.

The spa facility provided a good range of services, which my wife enjoyed very much.

One of the best parts of the stay was the food. The breakfasts are a combination of buffet with well prepared a la carte selections. The pastries and breads made on site were especially good. The restaurants feature Thai, and international food which leans towards Italian and French choices. After the first few days of sampling and enjoying the menu selections, and getting to know Chef Cyril, we were able to enjoy many items of his creation served in the newly opened Mediterranean themed restaurant called Ochos. Because some of the Thai dishes were to us at first a bit bland, we were also able to easily order a whole array of dishes made to more authentic Thai taste, meaning spicier, which we like. Because of the quality of the food and the creativity and attention of the kitchen staff, we ate most of our meals at the resort. On the couple of occasions we did go elsewhere, the quality did not match Akaryn, even though the prices were at the same level. When you consider the quite high cost and hassle of taking taxis around the island, it was indeed a pleasure to have just a 30 second stroll past a lovely pool to our eagerly awaited next meal.

During our visit, the hotel was constructing a pizza oven near the beach to be able to soon add wood fired pizzas to their growing repertoire of interesting and tasty food offerings.

This attention to our preferences and needs, and the excellent service of the restaurant staff, is what made our experience at Akaryn stand out.

If there is anything to mention of a negative is that the beach, as lovely as it is set, is not as enjoyable as we would have liked. It is a bit rocky and rather steeply sloped to the sea. While lovely to sit an look at it not as easy to use. To be fair, we had several days of rather high winds from offshore, resulting in higher than usual wave levels. There was also bits of jetsam on the parts of the beach beyond the property lines of the resort.

Despite the inability to really spend a lot of time on the beach and in the sea, the lovely setting of the resort, the comfortable rooms, the pools, the restaurants overlooking the sea and the good food made for a very relaxing experience for us after a long and hectic year. Of particular note was the personal interest taken by all levels of hotel staff, from Alex the resident manager on down, to make sure our wishes and needs were met, which made this holiday one of our most memorable. At the end of the day, it is hospitality and service which makes a hotel stand out and give the visitor a heightened experience and a warm afterglow. We will definitely consider returning for another visit.

December 30, 2012

From the minute we arrived we were impressed. The staff are lovely and we were lucky our room was ready early so we had no waiting around. The rooms are really well designed and the private patio with plunge pool a real luxury.

The spa is excellent. Ok so you can get massages cheaper out of the resort but the treatments at the hotel spa are world class and the therapists are very skilled and a true delight. Totally worth the extra. Its only a short and cheap cab ride to busy Chaweng and pretty Fishermans Village- both have great shopping, restaurants and bars. The hotel also provides a shuttle bus to Chaweng.

We have had a really good stay and feel totally relaxed. Thanks to everyone at Akaryn. Happy 2013.

2012 Corinna & Terence (UK)

We spent 10 wonderfully relaxing days at Akaryn at the end of June/beginning July and cannot fault the accomodation, food and especially the service. We recommend Akaryn as a peaceful hotel in a tranquil setting with high standards and far more privacy than you get in most hotels.

2012 Mamuka, Lida (Georgia)

This is a perfect hotel for vacation and I will try to explain why.
People: this is probably the best part of the resort. Starting from Alex, the manager up to every single employee. They are doing their best to please you. I am absolutely sure that with so much efforts Akaryn will become one of the "WANTED" resorts in Thailand.
Thank you Alex and all team for everything!

2012 Salman/Arshila (Pakistan)

Stayed in room 134 for eight nights, Good value for money, It has a private beach. Staff is friendly and the Hotel Manager Alex goes an extra mile to make everyone feel special.

2012 Moira (Australia)

We loved this resort. It is a new resort. We had a pool seaside villa which was excellent, very spacious. The food was excellent. We had snacks and cocktails by the pool during the day and the dinners were so good, very fresh. But probably the best thing about this resort was the excellent service. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. AJ and Roy in the restaurant, Pan in the spa, Oh and Nun at reception. And lots of little touches, like complimentary snacks at the pool, fresh fruit in the room and relaxing music on an ipod for use.

July 2012 SIN YING (HONG KONG)

It's a total retreat on Koh Samui. The location is hidden among local residence so that the resort can have the beach on its own. I like the setting of the huts so that they don't line up like other resorts. They are scattered on the slope and privacy is gauranteed. The plantation makes it like a tropical garden.

July 2012 TAREK (DUBAI)

Stayed there with my partner and enjoyed a very private and romantic experience! The villa are very private with a lot of trees and beautiful green garden. Resort with very nice private beach!

July 2012 OLGA (DENMARK)

First of all we would like to say “thank you” to Isabel and Alex. We stay in this hotel for 8 nights: end of June - beginning of July 2012 and enjoy every day in this stylish resort with excellent service. All rooms are the private bungalows with pools. We stay in 104. This room is perfect, if you like to stay next to the main facilities like pool, spa, wet bar.

June 2012 FREDERIC & CATHY (FRANCE)

C'est un endroit magique et enchanteur qui mérite bien ses 5 étoiles ! Elle n'est pas gigantesque, mais la plage est belle et sans rochers. Plantées dans un cadre idyllique, les pool villas sont bien agencées et séparées les unes des autres par une magnifique végétation qui vous évitera toute promiscuité avec vos voisins les plus proches.

June 2012 JORDI & NUES (SPAIN)

We have had really nice days at Akaryn, the Villas are amaizing with privat pool and completly new. We enjoyed the quality of the restaurant. Special place if you want to relax and be part of the island. Nice service and nice people!

2012 PETER A. (USA)

Our stay was a wonderful experience albeit too short and we would recommend the akaryn to others.

May 2012 LARS W (SWEDEN)

My and my fiancee booked a Pool Villa at the newly opened Akaryn Resort. Upon arrival we were greeted by the doorman who used our surname prior to checkin. To me this breaths luxury. During the earning we went down to the bar and were served some lovely cocktails which were up to "european standard". During the following morning during breakfast, the hotel manager Mr. Alex came down to greet us in person making sure we were enjoying our stay, and believe me we were. Many Thanks to Akaryn resort for making our stay unforgettable.

May 2012 FAN W (HONG KONG)

Staff no matter in front desk, restaurant or housekeeping are nice and helpful. Akaryn is a lovely resort and we will stay there again.

May 2012 MR.LAM (HONG KONG)

My wife & I spent 4 nights (end of May) in Akaryn Samui and we both love it very much!
We love the chic design with peaceful ambience of this resort ! The staff were nice & friendly especially the driver (I don't know the spelling of his name) who picked us up from the airport for our arrival. He's so kind & friendly whenever we met him during our stay although the rest of transportation trips to Chaweng town or Fisherman's Village were not driven by him which impressed us! Foods & beverages were good from The Edge & Wet Bar!
Please keep on your good works & we are so looking forward to be back at Akaryn Samui (with the same suite assigned, ha ha!)!

May 2012 MARK (AUSTRALIA)

My wife and I made a quick weekend trip to experience Akaryn and to join their featured Spanish food & wine dinner.
I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised at how well they have done in creating a stylish and service driven experience in such a short space of time. Chef Ivan turns his team to intricate Spanish food, Traditional Thai and simple western day time snacks, we stayed in the whole time and wished for another day to be super lazy by the pool bar in awe of the incredible view across the bay. We observed most guests doing the same.
We will return.

May 2012 PAUL & LINDSAY (UK)

My husband and I have just returned from ten days at the Akaryn Resort and Spa, and we have to say that the wonderful attentive staff made it our best holiday ever! They provided a first class service from the moment we arrived to the minute we finally (reluctantly) had to leave for the airport!

May 2012 STEFAN & AYAKA (UK/JP)

We left the resort with a lot of stories to tell and memories to remember. Needless to say, the rooms and facilities are luxurious, comfortable and excellent. This is a new resort and I can only see Akaryn gets even better and continues to go beyond our expectations. A++.

May 2012 BERND & GABI (DE)

We just spent 4 blissful nights at the lovely Akaryn. Great spot with private beach, no one else share the beach. Some review says the beach is rocky, but I find it beautiful with interesting rock formations. A bit to the right, just less than 20 meters walk, you have a great place to snorkel and we did, healthy reefs and plenty of little fish to see. Food was great, drinks were amazing. The rooms are spacious, we had the pool suite with a private plunge pool and private balcony. Great service. Close to Chaweng but a world apart. With the soft opening period, the rate is great and is a great value for money. Will be back.
Booknow
Location:
Arrival:
Departure:
 
Share Print